I Believe in Pink

20140123-174332.jpg

“I believe in pink. I believe that laughing is the best calorie burner. I believe in kissing, kissing a lot. I believe in being strong when everything seems to be going wrong. I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day and I believe in miracles.” – Audrey Hepburn

There is something so simple and sweet in these words. I’ve long-since admired Audrey and her work as an actress and humanitarian, not to mention her incredible eye for fashion. There’s no doubt that she faced challenges in her lifetime but she always maintained such composure, grace, liveliness and compassion. Secretly (well maybe it’s not so secret anymore), I want to be like Audrey.

For the past several years, I’ve been dealing with a slew of health oddities that doctors could not seem to put their finger on. By the summer of 2010 I knew that there was definitely something very wrong but it took until last July (2012) to finally reach an accurate diagnosis, Lyme Disease. I’ve since moved back in with my parents (something that I definitely did not foresee in my future!) and am on the road to recovery, albeit a seemingly long one thus far. In the past year I have made little progress and some days it’s hard to “believe in pink” or in “being[ing] strong when everything seems to be going wrong”. But alas, I press on because that’s all there is to do.

I’ve decided to write this blog for a few reasons. Firstly, I want to bring more awareness toward Lyme Disease and the growing number of people who suffer from it. I don’t believe that the average person has any idea what it means to have LD and I want to do my part in helping educate people. Secondly, I want to share some of the nutritious recipes that I’ve been enjoying over the past year. I have a very specific dietary regimen that I think many people could benefit from and am excited to finally have a platform from which to share them. Lastly, I want to share some more personal details about what I have learned spiritually from all that I have been through, and will no doubt continue to go through, as I move toward complete healing.

The name, Joy Rises, was inspired by one of my favorite scripture verses which is the last bit of Psalms 30:5, “Weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning”. The reason I love this verse so much is because of the hope it inspires. One thing that has been impressed upon me during this experience is that it is possible to experience joy in every circumstance; even though I’m not thrilled with my current situation I can still choose to live in joy. Joy is different than happiness because it rests on hope-hope for healing, hope for restoration, hope for newness. For me, this verse serves as a simple reminder that my joy is mounting with each day and in each trial. I know that one day I will be 100% healthy and happy, and this is what Joy Rises means to me. Until that day, I’ll keep dreaming in pink, laughing from my belly and believing in miracles.

XX,
KMD

One thought on “I Believe in Pink

Leave a Reply

