Sweet Pea Soup

20131106-180504.jpg

I’d like to start this post by admitting that I’ve never been a very big fan of soup. In general, soup has never been all that appealing to me. It’s not that I don’t enjoy it on the occasion when I do eat it, it’s just that I’d rather eat something else when provided the option.

Well my friends, I am happy to report that my opinion on soup has changed with the semi-recent addition of the Vitamix into our household. Over the past few months we’ve been experimenting with all kinds of different vegetable-based soups, suffice it to say that I’m a convert. This recipe for sweet pea soup is my very favorite of the multitudes that we’ve made of late. I have to say that it was quite a pleasant surprise, as I wasn’t expecting to like it nearly as much as I did!

Ingredients:
1 Tbsp olive oil, or enough to coat bottom of pan
1 medium leek, whites and light green parts only, halved and thinly sliced
1 medium organic onion, chopped
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 large organic potato, peeled, cut into small cubes
16 oz organic frozen peas
4 cups organic vegetable stock
A few sprigs of fresh thyme, tied into a bundle

Directions:
Heat large stockpot and add oil. Once oil is warm, add garlic and onions. Cook over medium-high heat until garlic is fragrant, 30-45 seconds. Add leeks and cook until leeks and onions have softened, about 3 minutes.

Add potatoes and peas and cook for about 2 minutes until frozen peas start to defrost. Add vegetable stock and thyme bundle. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and let simmer for 15-20 minutes until potatoes are soft all the way through. Remove from heat and cool for 10-15 minutes. Remove thyme bundle.

Transfer soup in batches to a blender, we use a Vitamix in my household but you can use an immersion blender if you don’t have a good, high powered blender. Season with salt and pepper as desired. Serve soup warm or chilled with a few sprigs of thyme for garnish.

Let me know what you think if you decide to venture out and give it a try!

XX, K

Leave a Reply

