Thanksgiving: What’s on the Menu

20131126-163442.jpg

Worried about selecting just the right [Paleo, gluten free, clean] diet friendly delectables worthy of your Thanksgiving table? Don’t be. A simple google or Pinterest search will render all kinds of delicious options, and luckily for you, I’ve already prepared and taste tested a few recipes. Best of all, each of these recipes are Paleo friendly, gluten free, and full of nutrients. Below are some details about the recipes that are on the menu at our house- just click on the link to view the original recipe + pictures.

On the menu:

Grain-free stuffing– Who says you need bread to make stuffing? There are lots of gluten free stuffings to choose from these days, like stuffings made with rice or gluten free bread crumbs, but this year I chose a grain- free version, and it just might be my favorite yet. It’s light but still hearty enough to fill the role of standard American stuffing. The fresh herbs are really the key to delivering the fall flavors that you’d expect in a stuffing.

Mashed Cauliflower – If white potatoes aren’t on your diet, or if you’re just looking for some variety, then try some mashed cauliflower instead. The texture is naturally a bit different but it’s sure to satisfy, and most importantly, tastes great with gravy.

Cranberry Sauce– This spiced cranberry sauce is simply divine. I think it would be just as satisfying a la mode as it is with the Thanksgiving turkey. Plus, it’s so simple to prepare that there’s no reason to ever go back to the canned stuff.

Green Bean Casserole– Personally I’ve never been a fan of green bean casserole, but when I came across this recipe I knew I had to give it another chance. We modified the recipe and didn’t use the nutritional yeast called for because I’m allergic to yeast, but it still turned out deliciously. I can only imagine how scrumptious it would be if you followed the recipe completely.

Rolls– Let me first say that it’s tough to create a good gluten free roll or biscuit. I’ve tried many different recipes and most successful executions have been achieved with rice flower. Since I want to keep rice out of my diet for a few months though, I was excited to stumble across this recipe. The outside of the roll comes out crispy and wonderful, which can be tough to achieve when working with gluten free flours. The inside is a bit spongy, almost as if it’s not quite cooked all the way, which is definitely because of the tapioca flour. These rolls may not be for everyone, but I really quite like them and will definitely keep this recipe handy for future use.

Gravy– I have to be honest and say that I was underwhelmed by this recipe, and it took some tweaking to create something that would add the pizzazz that’s necessary on Thanksgiving. Adding some extra salt and thyme definitely helped but I can’t say that this is the best gravy I’ve ever had.

Flourless Pumpkin Bars– Ditch the crust and dig into these delicious pumpkin bars. I can’t say enough good things about these bars, they turned out beyond expectations. We subbed sunflower seed butter for almond butter and created our own glaze by mixing coconut oil, honey, vanilla extract, and a pinch of salt. Even my gluten-loving boyfriend loves them.

What are you T H A N K F U L for? My wish for you is that you take the time to meditate on and give thanks for all if the wonderful blessings in your life, no matter how big or small.

20131126-163100.jpg

I am T H A N K F U L for access to clean and delicious foods, and I am especially thankful for the hands that prepare them. I’m T H A N K F U L for supportive friends and family and the memories that we have made over the years. I am T H A N K F U L for my health, even as it is being restored to me. I’m T H A N K F U L for a cozy house and warm clothes on my back. The list goes on as I sit and reflect on past experiences, challenges, and victories, and relish in the simple joys of life, like painting my nails and sipping on tea out of my favorite mug.

Wishing you lots of love this Thanksgiving!

XX, K

20131126-163504.jpg

One thought on “Thanksgiving: What’s on the Menu

  1. Happy Thanksgiving, Kayla! We are huge fans of mashed cauliflower here at the Z household. Sounds like a great menu, and I want a report on your favorites. Hugs – Pam

Leave a Reply

