Staving off Candida & Hearty Oat Bran Muffin Recipe

20140214-165451.jpg

About a month ago I found out that I have a moderate case of systemic candida. I had suspected this might be the case for quite a while because I’ve had body wide itching for over a year now but have never been able to attribute it to a specific allergen or anything else. I had taken a candida test early last fall that came back negative, but the test I took in December came back positive, so here I am, treating yet another chronic infection in addition to the Lyme. I’m hoping that knocking the candida will knock the itching and will also speed up my Lyme treatment, which seems to be moving at a glacial pace, but I guess that only time will tell.

For those who don’t know, candida is a fungal infection that occurs when the flora in the gut becomes out of balance and bad bacteria begins to overwhelm the good bacteria. It has been said that all health starts in the gut, and gut flora is so complex that doctors and scientists still know very little about the multitude of microorganisms that reside there.

What we do know is that a healthy gut contains an 80:20 ratio of good bacteria vs. bad bacteria and is also indicative of proper immune function. However, toxins like pesticides, GMO’s, and antibiotics are all known to severely alter and disrupt proper gut flora, making it immensely difficult to maintain intestinal integrity. Since it’s almost impossible to avoid all damaging contaminants, one really must remain diligent in maintaining proper intestinal health.

Since digestive and intestinal issues have been a problem of mine for the past ten years, I knew that regaining my health in this area was of vital importance to my overall healing journey. Some of you who have been reading this blog for a while probably remember my post about a healing dietary plan called the GAPS diet, which I spoke about here, and I am happy to report that I have gained some weight and am more properly digesting and absorbing my food now. However, with the new candida diagnosis, I decided to refine my diet yet again.

While treating candida, it’s crucial to eliminate ALL sugar, grains, dairy, and starchy vegetables, because sugar is essentially what allows the candida to flourish (starchy foods metabolize into sugar). Even though I eliminated conventional sugar, dairy, and gluten long ago, I decided to follow a bit of advice from the official Candida Diet which requires the elimination of honey, maple syrup, agave, and fruits (with the exception of green apples and grapefruit), rice, and root vegetables (goodbye sweet potato fries).

Luckily for me, oat bran and coconut flour are still permitted on the candida diet, and when I stumbled across this oat bran muffin recipe by Whole New Mom, I knew I had to try them. I modified the recipe a bit, and the results are delicious, just trust me on this. If you’re not watching your sugar intake, feel free to top your muffin with a natural fruit preserve, honey, or nut butter for an added pop.

20140214-165517.jpg

Ingredients:
2 1/2 C uncooked oat bran
2 t baking powder
1-2 t salt
2 t cinnamon
2 eggs
1 C water
2 t vanilla extract
2T coconut oil
2 T ghee
2 sm green apples, peeled and cut into chunks

Directions:
Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Mix dry ingredients together. Mix wet ingredients in a separate bowl. Cook apples in saucepan on medium-high heat until soft. Purée and add to wet ingredients. Stir wet ingredients into dry ingredients. Butter or grease muffin tin (ghee, grassfed butter, or coconut oil), and spoon batter into tins. Bake 10-20 minutes, or until the muffins set up nicely. Top with butter, raw honey, jam, your favorite nut butter, or enjoy them all by themselves!

*Makes about 14 regular sized muffins.

12 thoughts on “Staving off Candida & Hearty Oat Bran Muffin Recipe

    • Yep. The first time I was tested was prob last August and it didn’t show any issues, but when I was retested in Dec it came back positive. I think I got a little lax about taking as many probiotics, or maybe after I killed the H. Pylori the candida took the opportunity to overpopulate, who knows.

      • Ahh kinda like thrush for your tummy. Sad story. Grab a good novel (that is not about health/lyme/or anything of the sort) get completely lost in it, throw your phone/computer/tv away—and let the medicine do its work. That’s usually a good plan for a semi-new diagnosis. Escape. 🙂

      • Well it usually originates in the tummy but can become systemic, which is what happen when you get thrush or yeast infections. It’s fine, I’m sure I’ll have it under control in no time with a little help from some antifungals and a whole lotta lotta probiotics. But a good non-Lyme book does sound really nice. Love you, lady. Hope you’re doing alright. xx.

      • Love to you too lady—try East of Eden (Steinbeck) or Poisonwood Bible (Kingsolver). Two of my faves—and quickly became all of whom I’ve recommended it to’s fave. I’ve had all many, many copies stolen, happily 🙂

  1. Thanks for the candida diet link. So u are avoiding carrots? I’ve read conflicting things in it…. Some sources say is can help with parasites bc it cleanses the bowel and soaks up toxins, especially excess estrogen, which can be a cause/effect of candida.

    Are u eating rutabaga? The link u posted had another link to candida fighting foods, and this root veggie had anti microbial properties… Sounds like a good mash recipe to me!

    Can u do a post of your typical daily diet for each of your meals and snacks? I’d love to see how u are constructing your healing diet exactly… It would be really helpful

    I love your blog and your elegant writing style and positivity

    • Hi Stacy! Thank you so much for your kid words.

      I have had an incredible amount of issues in the digestive department for the last 3 wks and my diet has really suffered because of them. The only things I can manage to keep down are some broiled or grilled meats, rice pasta, oat bran, and a few cooked veggies. Two of the things that I tolerate pretty well right now are rutabaga and carrots! So I’ve been eating a lot (probably too many) of those.

      What type of diet do you adhere to? I love to hear about what is working for different people- I have personally tried so many different diets but don’t feel that I’ve really hit the sweet spot.

      -K

  2. I just made these and I’m in LOVE!!! I am on the Candida Diet and was feeling I needed something to satisfy my dessert cravings and this did the trick. I changed things up a bit: I used (2) flax eggs instead of real eggs, I added 1 teaspoon of baking powder to help with the egg substitution, I added about 1/2-1 extra teaspoon on cinnamon and about 1/4 teaspoon of pumpkin spice. I also used 1.5 teaspoon of salt, but could have used a tad bit less. I’m over the moon excited that I have a recipe that I can make in bulk and freeze and have a go to when I’m in a rush 🙂 Thanks again!!!

    • Oh I am so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed them so much! And thank you for letting me know abou the substitutions you made – it sounds like they make a wonderful variation, and I look forward to giving your version a try! Xx.

  3. Hi Kayla,

    Thanks so much for this recipe, I’m really looking forward to trying them. Just wanted to check, how did you cook the apples? Did you boil them in water or cook them in butter / ghee?

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

