Coconut Flour Bread

20140228-200548.jpg

I’ve had a bit of a rough week, and when I feel terrible I tend to crave things that are more likely than not to make me feel worse- can we say french fries and rice pasta? So in an effort to keep myself from eating all of these starchy, high carb foods that Lyme flourishes off of, I decided to try out a new recipe for coconut flour bread. I found a recipe with relatively few ingredients on Lexbake’s blog, and then my friend Betty, who cooks for me on Wednesdays, made a few tweaks to make the recipe even better.

I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by this bread, it’s not too sweet, but does have a hint of sweetness, probably from the coconut oil. If you wanted to make a more dessert type bread and you’re not watching your sugar intake, then feel free to add a bit of honey or stevia to sweeten it up. I haven’t tried using the bread to make a sandwich, but it sure is tasty with some pumpkin seed butter spread in top, and I can think of about ten other things that I want to try with it. Endless possibilities.

In other news- I’m currently working on a new post with a treatment update to fill everyone in on my progress, or lack thereof, and I promise that you’ll hear from me again soon(ish).

X, K

20140228-200609.jpg

Ingredients:
3/4 C coconut flour
1/2 C virgin coconut oil, melted
1/4 C ghee
6 eggs
1/2 tsp. sea salt
1 tsp. baking powder

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350. Grease loaf pan with coconut oil. Separate egg whites from yolk, and place in two separate bowls. Beat egg yolks until frothy. Beat egg whites until fluffy and voluminous. Combine egg yolks, ghee, and coconut oil in a bowl. Add salt, baking powder, and coconut flour and combine with egg yolk mixture. Fold in egg whites. Mixture will be a thick paste. Push it down into the loaf pan and bake for 35-40 minutes.

6 thoughts on “Coconut Flour Bread

  1. Sounds tasty. We will have to give it try! I’ve been thinking about you a lot this week. Hugs from us and kisses from Hank. Love you lady.

    • It’s quite moist, we actually modified the recipe to add more liquids to make sure that the bread wasn’t too dry, and it turned out very well. It has a slightly sweet flavor and is overall quite yummy in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

